SBUBolivar, Missouri Est. 1878

Department of Music at Southwest Baptist University

Questions? Contact

Martha Hicks, D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Music, and Professor of Music
(417) 328-1633


Jane Munson-Berg
Andrew Campbell
Robert Carney
Martha Hicks
Brian Hopwood
Terri Knupps
Melinda Smashey Jones
Robin Smith
James Tarrant
Jeffery Waters
Renee Waters

Faculty associates

Marc Baker - percussion
Alejandro Gonzalés Béltran - cello
Mark Bowdidge - organ
Regina Bruner - clarinet
R. Catherine Burgher - Higher Ground
Michelle Draper - flute
Delrae Glidwell - music education
Carol Harrison - violin, viola
Eric Jackson - french horn
Angel McGlasson - oboe
Sara Miller - piano, accompanist
Melissa Roberts - piano
John Strickler - guitar
Joe Wooderson - voice
Tim Wootton - trumpet


Renee Waters
Renee Waters
Renee Waters
Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music Theory
Southwest Baptist University
1600 University Avenue,
111 Casebolt Music Center
Bolivar, MO 65613

Courses Taught:  Music Theory, Composition, Fine Arts, Piano

Educational Background: Dr. Waters earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Education from Jacksonville State University in Alabama, and Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees in Composition from the University of Georgia.

Faith Dedications:  Dr. Waters is a member of First Baptist Church of Bolivar, Missouri.   She plays piano in the church orchestra and for worship services.